Throwback Thursday

Happy Thursday everyone! The weekend is almost here, and hopefully these pop culture favorites of mine will makes those last few hours of the work week that much more bearable.

Movie: E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial (1982)

E.T. The Extra TerrestrialI caught this movie on HBO tonight and my first thought was, “Damn! I haven’t seen this in a long time!” I then had flashbacks of what freaked me out about the film when I was a kid. Who knew an adult running around with a keychain–that he had to have stolen from a janitor–could still be scary?! Props to Steven Spielberg because that is no easy feat. The movie also has its funny moments to balance out these scarier ones, though, like E.T.’s multiple costume changes that include a drunk in flannel, a man in drag and the always understated Halloween costume, a sheet ghost. If you haven’t checked it out recently, go dust off your VHS copy of E.T. and hook up your VCR.

Song: “Everlong,” The Colour and the Shape by the Foo Fighters

Foo Fighters The Colour and the ShapeI’ve been a Foo fan for awhile, as this song has been my ringtone, the most-played song on my iPod, and on multiple mixed-CDs I made throughout middle school (cut to “Music 4 the Mind”–how did I have friends?). I heard the acoustic version of “Everlong” on the radio today and immediately thought of it for today’s throwback. I’m listening to the original song now while simultaneously Googling what I can about it. Fun fact: near the end of the song where Grohl’s words are seemingly indecipherable, the source materials for what he’s saying include a love letter, a technical manual, and a story about a studio technician’s father. Now you do the same and let me know what you find out.

Viral Clip:

I caught one of my favorite series of all time on TV tonight, too. Best opening sequence ever? YES.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment